Juried Art

Arts at the Port photo by Kit Leonard

Arts at the Port > Juried ArtFocus Gallery – Emerging ArtistsWorking StudiosGuidelinesAwards

Juried Art Overview

About our Juror: Michael Monroe, Seattle, has been involved with the contemporary American studio craft movement for over 50 years.   In addition to his current status as Director Emeritus of the Bellevue Art Museum, Monroe served as Executive Director of the American Craft Council, a 30,000 member national organization. For twenty-one years he was associated with the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s Renwick Gallery, serving as Curator and Curator-in-Charge.

In 1993, Monroe was invited by President and Mrs Clinton to curate a collection of contemporary American craft for the White House to commemorate The Year of American Craft.   He also worked on several related assignments for Presidents Carter and Bush.

Our Juried Exhibition application is now available through CaFE – the deadline is April 3, 2018.

The Arts at the Port Opening is Saturday, July 28 at 6:00 pm at the Port Transit Shed. It is a free evening of art, wine, appetizers and music – and an opportunity to meet and mingle with many of the artists. Awards will be announced at the Opening. The exhibition continues July 30 – August 2, from 9-5 and during Festival hours August 4-6.

The theme of this year’s Juried Exhibition is “Essence”. It will include bodies of work from regional artists working in both 2D & 3D. Arts at the Port includes up to $12,500 in awards including $3,000 Best of Show and two $1,000 Excellence Awards selected by the Juror. Also included are two $1,000 Festival Awards, a $1,000 Peoples Choice Award, $500 T Bailey Corporate Award and $4,000 Festival Purchase Award to place artwork in public collections (commission applies).